Profoundly Moved: Candice’s Artistic Journey: Discovering the Sari

See on Scoop.itMixed American Life

“At the show people told me that I looked like a piece of art work and that the cloth I wore was the most beautiful they had ever seen. In fact, I was hugged more there by people than I had been in years. It was as if they were thanking me for wearing a sari. For three days I was lucky enough to don a sari, but on the last day, I wore Western clothes and what a world of difference that made! Conversations that had been respectful, enlightening and even surreal, degraded to school-boy banter about breasts. People even evinced surprise that I was a sculptor; I was no longer the worthy creator of my own work! I felt naked. I felt dethroned.” -Candice Raquel Lee

See on candiceraquel.blogspot.fr

Leave a Reply

