Why I Don’t Sleep With White Guys

I live in a predominately white city. Everywhere I went, I was white men’s object (emphasis on object) of desire. I was being objectified, exoticized and sexualized for being one of few coloured girls in a sea of white men.

Community Village‘s insight:

At first I wasn’t going to share this because I didn’t see a photo in the post. However, this post seems to have hit a nerve with a lot of people. When I scooped it, the photo above was pulled in by Scoop.it. I don’t think she’s the author – but it’s a photo 🙂

Here’s my favorite line from this article:

“As a mixed-race girl, I also found it unsettling that the colour of my skin allowed people to label me as “Black,” or as something tropical and exotic — it was always one of the two.”

Emphasis is mine.

@getgln

See on www.huffingtonpost.ca

One thought on “Why I Don’t Sleep With White Guys

  1. Lisa September 11, 2013 / 1:14 am

    And if it’s minority men mixed with White, it’s worse. And even colored men hate being sexualized and objectified by White women. They go mad for sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

