I taught my black kids that their elite upbringing would protect them from discrimination. I was wrong.

 

“,… I insisted that he report the incident to the school. His chief concern was not wanting the white students and administrators to think of him as being special, different, or “racial.” That was his word. “If the other kids around here find out that I was called a nigger, and that I complained about it,” my son pleaded, “then they will call me ‘racial,’ and will be thinking about race every time they see me. I can’t have that.”

 

Source: www.washingtonpost.com

 

The fear should not be about bringing up racism.

 

The fear should be allowing racism to continue rampant and unchecked without any push back to slow it down.

 

Leave a Reply

