Speaking Latina: Race v. Ethnicity

Via Scoop.itMixed American Life

“I asked the teacher where I would have had to sit in the bus. And because God has always used humor to teach me, a classmate answered, “In the middle.” People laughed of course, but the teacher (who I am pretty sure giggled as well) told me I would most likely have to sit in the rear of the bus. It was then that I learned about blacks with very light complexions passing for white, which only fueled my curiosity.”

Via blog.nuyoriquena.com

Leave a Reply

